Notice is hereby given that the following elections will be held in Boundary County during calendar year 2020.

Name and address
of taxing district

Election Date

Declaration of Candidacy
Filing Deadline

Boundary County
Presidential Primary
6452 Kootenai St.
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805

March 10

December 11, 2019

Boundary County
Primary Election
6452 Kootenai St.
PO Box 419
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805

May 19

March 13

General Election
6452 Kootenai St.
PO Box 419
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805

November 3

March 13

Boundary County Soil Conservation
6813 El Paso St. Ste. 1
PO Box 23
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805

November 3

September 1

Boundary County School District #101
M & O Levy
7188 Oak Street
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805

November 3


Declarations of candidacy are available at the respective taxing district office or at the County Clerk’s Office.

On the Idaho District 1 ballot for president this year will be Donald Trump.

Running in the March 10 Presidential Primary will be;

Constitution: Don Blankenship, Daniel Clyde Cummings, Don J. Grundmann, Charles Kraut, J.R. Myers and Sheila “Samm” Tittle.

Democrat: Michael Bennet, Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Cory Booker, Steve Burke, Pete Buttigieg, Julián Castro, Roque De La Fuente, John K. Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, Marianne Williamson, and Andrew Yang.

Republican: Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente, Bob Ely, Matthew John Matern, Donald J. Trump, Joe Walsh and Bill Weld.

For federal Idaho offices, incumbent U.S. Senator Jim Risch and Congressmen Russ Fulcher and Mike Simpson, all Republicans, have announced they are seeking re-election.

To date, no Republicans have filed to challenge Risch, Simpson or Fulcher in the May GOP primary. Risch was elected to the U.S. Senate in 2008, Simpson was elected to the U.S. House in 1998 and and Fulcher was elected in 2018.

Senate terms are six years; House terms are two years.

Three candidates are seeking the Democratic nomination for Risch’s Senate seat, according to Federal Election Commission filings: Nancy Harris of Boise, Travis Oler of Shelley and Jim Vandermaas of Eagle.

Also running for Risch’s seat are Constitution Party candidate Ray Writz of Coeur d’Alene and independent candidate Natalie Fleming of Fruitland.

Democrat Rudy Soto of Nampa and Independent candidate Joseph Evans of Meridian have filed to challenge Fulcher’s First Congressional District seat.

So far, no one has filed to challenge Representative Mike Simpson for the Second Congressional District, which comprises eastern and central Idaho, including the eastern portion of the Treasure Valley.

(1) comment


Are there no Libertarian Party candidates on the Presidential Primary ballot?

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.