Home Social Obituaries Business Sports Letters Events Entertainment

Shawna Siver preparing for Idaho Falls

September 11, 2018
Bonnerrs Ferry Distinguished Young Women
2017 Bonners Ferry Distinguished Young Woman Hannah Sims hands her reign to 2018's winner, Shawna Siver.
High school senior girls from across Idaho, including Bonners Ferry's own Shawna Siver, will join together for the Distinguished Young Women of Idaho program to be held Friday and Saturday, October 5-6, at The Colonial Theater, 450 A Street, Idaho Falls.

Participants will compete for $27,500 in college scholarships and the opportunity to represent the state as the Distinguished Young Woman of Idaho for 2019. The program is open to the public.

Tickets will be available at the door for $15. The showcases will be held at 7 p.m. Friday night and 10 a.m. Saturday morning with the winner being announced in the showcase that begins at 7 p.m. Saturday night.

The 36 young women competing will be evaluated by a panel of five judges in the following categories: Scholastics, 25%, Interview, 25%, Talent, 20%, Fitness, 15%, and Self-Expression, 15%.

The participant selected as the Distinguished Young Woman of Idaho will advance to the national level at the 62nd Distinguished Young Women National Finals in Mobile, Alabama, June 27-30, 2019, where she will join with 51 other representatives from across the country in competing for cash scholarships and the opportunity to represent the program as the Distinguished Young Woman of America.

In addition to Shawna, Distinguished Young Women of Idaho welcomes the following participants to Idaho Falls: Hope Ambridge, Sandpoint; Kassidy Anderson, Mini-Cassia; Olivia Arave, Blackfoot; Taite Baldwin, Snake River; Jenna Bauer, St. Maries; Kawehi Beck, Aberdeen; Daphne Buckland, Genesee; Hannah Calley, Kuna; Kyla Campbell, Rigby; Grace Christensen, Firth/Shelley; Emily Curtis, Madison; Breelle Daniels, Malad; Katherine Doumit, Troy; Madison Fillmore, Sugar/Salem; Emily Frank, Melba/Nampa; Chantell Gonzales, Marsh Valley; Ashley Hanson, Moscow; Devyn Harding, Teton; Kassidy Kunz, Franklin County; Allyson LeForce, Potlatch; Arianna Lema, Post Falls; Abby Lewis, Ririe; Delphinia Li, Pocatello/Chubbuck; Lydia McRoberts, Lewiston; Mariah Miller, Boise Valley; Rachel Moss, West Jefferson; Alexa Nedrow, Ashton; Ashley Okeson, Bonneville County; Grace Solomon, Magic Valley; Nicole Sparano, Orofino; Rachael Stevens, The Camas Prairie; Christina Tefft, Priest River; McKenzie Webster, South Fremont; Sequoia Wheelan, Coeur d’Alene; and Reagan Yamauchi, Caribou County.

© Kootenai Valley Times
P.O. Box 1625
Bonners Ferry, ID 83806
[email protected]